Unofficial and unconfirmed results show PTI won 6 NA and 2 PA seats

2 Mins read

Islamabad: Celebrations in the PTI camp were in full swing on Sunday night as unofficial results in the by-elections — on eight National Assembly and three Punjab Assembly constituencies — showed the party has decimated its rival, the Pakistan Democratic Movement (PDM), in the contest to reclaim seats left vacant by PTI leaders.

According to the unofficial final count from Sunday’s polls, the former prime minister and PTI chief Imran Khan won six out of seven National Assembly seats, while the PPP managed to clinch victory in only two constituencies.

Khan was leading since the moment counting began after the clock struck 5pm marking an end to the polling which began early morning.

The country witnessed intense political activity as polling began at 8am and continued peacefully in some constituencies, with sporadic clashes in others.

The constituencies where polling took place were: NA-22 Mardan-III, NA-24 Charsadda-II, NA-31 Peshawar-V, NA-108 Faisalabad-VIII, NA-118 Nankana Sahib -II, NA 157 Multan-IV, NA-237 Malir-II, and NA-239 Korangi, Karachi-I.

The by-poll on NA-45, a tribal area seat, was postponed over the constituency’s law and order situation.

The lower house seats were vacated after NA Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf had accepted the resignations of PTI MNAs — nine on general seats and two on reserved seats for women.

Who emerged victorious and where?

Khan bagged 57,824 to defeat his rival in Peshawar’s NA-31 by-elections, according to unofficial results, with ANP’s Haji Ghulam Ahmad Bilour securing 32,253 votes — allowing the PTI chairman to win by more than 25,000 votes.

JUI-F’s Maulana Muhammad Qasim was able to get 68,181 votes in the Mardan NA-22 by-poll, while Khan secured 76,681 votes, as per unofficial results. The PTI chairman won by a margin of 8,500 votes.

In the Charsadda NA-24 by-polls, as per unofficial results, the PTI chairman managed to bag 78,589 votes and ANP’s Aimal Wali Khan got 68,356 votes. Khan won the contest by 10,233 votes.

Khan (99,602) also emerged victorious in the NA-108 Faisalabad clash as he defeated PML-N’s Abid Sher Ali (75,131), as per unofficial results, by more than 24,471 votes.

The former prime minister also claimed victory on the NA-118 Nankana Sahib-II seat with 90,180 votes, according to unofficial results, defeating PML-N’s Shezra Mansab Ali by a little over 12,000 votes. Ali obtained 78,024 votes.

The PTI chief also won Karachi’s NA-239 by-polls with 50,014 votes, according to unofficial results, as his party retained the seat in Korangi. Khan defeated MQM-P’s Nayyar Raza amidst an easy contest.

However, PPP’s Abdul Hakeem Baloch defeated the PTI chairman by obtaining 32,567 votes in the by-elections on the NA-237 Malir-II seat, according to unofficial results.

With nearly 10,000 votes less than Baloch, Khan bagged 22,493 in the constituency — which was claimed by PTI during the 2018 general elections.

Musa — the son of former prime minister Yousaf Raza Gillani — bagged 79,743 votes in the NA-157 Multan-IV by-elections and took a lead of 19,750 as Meher — the daughter of PTI leader Shah Mahmood Qureshi — was able to secure 59,993 votes, according to unofficial results.

PTI bags two of three PA seats

Among the three provincial seats, PTI also bagged PP-209 Khanewal and PP-241 Bahawalnagar by a huge margin.

PTI’s Muhammad Faisal Khan Niazi secured 71,156 votes as compared to PML-N’s Chaudhry Zia ur Rehman, who secured 57,603. Meanwhile another leader of Khan’s party, Malik Muhammad Muzaffar Khan was ahead in the Bahawalnagar constituency by obtaining 59,957 votes while PML-N’s Aman Ullah Sattar lost the contest by 11,810 votes, as he only managed to gain 48,147 votes.

However, PTI faced defeat in PP-139 Sheikupura as PML-N’s Chaudhry Iftikhar Ahmed Bhangoo secured 40,829 votes beating PTI’s Muhammad Abu Bakar, who bagged 37,712 votes.

Related posts

U.S.-Pakistan “Green Alliance” to Fight Against Climate Change

2 Mins read
Lahore: U.S. Deputy Chief of Mission (DCM) Andrew Schofer, during his April 25-28 visit to Lahore, underscored the U.S. government’s efforts to…

Youm-e-Istehsal: Kashmir’s Struggle for Freedom, Echoes of Resilience and the Pursuit of Self-Determination.

3 Mins read
“The spirit of freedom cannot be quelled, for it is born amidst the mountains and flows like the rivers through the hearts…

Seminar on “Lethal Autonomous Weapon Systems (LAWS): A Regional Perspective”

4 Mins read
Islamabad: The Arms Control & Disarmament Centre (ACDC) at the Institute of Strategic Studies Islamabad (ISSI), in collaboration with Sustainable Peace and…
Power your team with us 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *