Site icon The diplomatic views

Imran Khan disqualified in Toshakhana reference

ISLAMABAD: In a major decision, the Election Commission of Pakistan has disqualified PTI Chairman Imran Khan, finding him guilty of not sharing details of Toshakhana gifts and proceeds from their sale during his time as prime minister.

A five-member bench, headed by Chief Election Commissioner Sikandar Sultan Raja, unanimously ruled against Khan under Article 63 (p) of the Constitution.

In the decision announced by the ECP, it has been said that Khan is no longer a member of the National Assembly and that his response was “not correct”.

According to the verdict, Khan has been involved in corrupt practices and his seat in the National Assembly has been declared vacant. The verdict has called for the initiation of legal action against Khan.

After the ECP ruled Khan misled officials about gifts he received while in power, his lawyer Gohar Khan said Khan was disqualified from running for political office for five years, AFP reported.

“The ECP has declared Imran Khan was involved in corrupt practices,” said Gohar Khan after the verdict, adding: “We are going to challenge it in the Islamabad high court right now.”

The ECP verdict reads as follows:

As sequel to our abovementioned findings, facts available on record and keeping in view the argument of learned counsel for parties herein, we are of the considered opinion that the Respondent has become disqualified under Article 63(1)(p) of the Constitution read with Section 137,167 and 173 of the Elections Act, 2017, consequently he ceases to be a member of the National Assembly of Pakistan and his seat has become vacant accordingly. As the respondent has made false statements and incorrect declaration, therefore he has also committed the offence of corrupt practices defined under Section 167 and 173 of the Elections Act,2017, punishable under Section 174 of the Elections Act, 2017. Office is directed to initiate legal proceedings and to take follow-up action under Section 190(2) of the Elections Act, 2017.

Exit mobile version